Big Family Christmas

 

That Jeannine, she is a wonder! I’m a low key Christmas person, but I have to say this month her blog inspired me to not let some of our Christmas traditions slip away. Finding the energy to make Christmas magical without losing yourself so far down the rabbit hole, that it becomes a chore instead of a joy. I love her idea about not labeling gifts by personalizing the gift wrap, but my favourite idea is the ‘magic key’ to leave for Santa so he can get in to leave the gifts (my kids asked about that every year.

Until next month…………enjoy

Our Christmas Traditions   by Jeannine Spurrell

cookies-650

Christmas is my absolute favourite time of the year. I love the music, the decorations, the movies, the extra baked goods (I may like those a little too much!). The part I love most is all the fun things I can do with the kids that makes me feel like a big kid, too.  Every family celebrates Christmas their own way and follows their own traditions. These are some of the ones I enjoy doing with my family. Maybe they will inspire you as well.

christmas-jammies-650

  1. Christmas Eve Box

I know this has been floating around Pinterest the past few years, but I have been doing this since my older children (now 19 and 17 years old) were little. On December 23, our house gets a special delivery at our front door.  This delivery has happened in many ways- Mom has to get something from the car and finds it on the porch, a neighbour brings it over because it has mistakenly been delivered to their house, someone just rings the doorbell for you and leaves it on the step. We have done it many different ways. On the box is a tag or card telling us not to open it until Christmas Eve after supper. Inside the box are new pyjamas for all the kids (makes for great Christmas morning pics), a Christmas book and movie, some hot chocolate, popcorn, reindeer food (birdseed, oats and coloured sugar), landing lights for Santa’s sleigh (battery operated lights we put out in our yard), and a note from Rudolph or Mrs. Claus or one of the elves. Before we had a fireplace, it also contained a Santa Key- a magical key for Santa to use to get into leave gifts since we did not have a chimney. We put on our jammies, go outside and spread the reindeer food and set up the landing lights, read the book, and make popcorn and hot chocolate to watch the movie before bedtime. This year, our box has gotten a little worn so I purchased a new canvas bag to use. Also new this year will be personalized Santa sacks to put out. After Christmas, we send the box back to Rudolph at the North Pole for next year.christmas-eve-bag-650

  1. Special Delivery for the Neighbours

Each year my children and I make treat boxes from our neighbours. We go through my recipes and they get to choose what treats we make (shortbread and chocolate cookies are usually the winners). We make up care packages with our homemade treats as well as hot chocolate packets, candy canes, some reindeer food to spread on Christmas Eve for those who have children, and sometimes treats for pets. The week before Christmas, Dad takes the little ones out and delivers them to the neighbours.

thumbnail_tree-2

  1. Putting up the tree (or trees) and Decorating

To me, this marks the beginning of our Christmas season. We put up and decorate our main tree inside of the house the same time every year- the first weekend after Remembrance Day. This may seem early to some, but we have an artificial tree (which was Hubby’s mother’s) and this date fits into our busy schedule. This year we are adding a second large tree (which was my childhood tree). Our third tree is a small children’s tree which is in my younger daughter’s room and the children decorate on their own however they want. Next year we will have to buy another small on for the younger boys’ room as well. I let the children “help” decorate our main trees as well, but we end up with many branches with 18 ornaments on them and others with none, so these are strategically moved once they are in bed.

  1. Making Handmade Ornaments

I love making things with my children. Each year, we make Christmas ornaments to add to the tree or to give as gifts. I love finding ornaments that incorporate handprints or footprints. It is a cute and easy way to keep track of just how small they were. Once, their hands/feet get too big, fingerprints can be used as well. Pinterest is a great way to find new ideas. We scroll through and the children each pick a design for everyone to make.ornaments-650

 

  1. Four Gift List

I saw this idea online a couple years ago and totally embraced it! Each year, when the children write their letters to Santa or make a wish list for us, we ask them to request four things- one they want, one they need, one to wear and one to read, We already did at least one book for each child, but thought this was a great way for them to really think about what to put on their list. They can put more than one thing under each heading, but we only choose one from each.

ornament-350

  1. Christmas Morning

When we were small, we had our gifts wrapped in themed paper- one for each of us. I love this and have continued it because there is no need for labels! When you have five kids and have to write labels for each gist, major hand cramping can occur. This way, we know whose gifts are whose without all the pesky labels. I try to find paper that is personalized to what each of them likes- either colour or theme.

Also, at our house, Santa does not wrap his gifts. There is no time for that! In past years, each child has had their gift from Santa, unwrapped, waiting for them with their stocking sitting in front. Because we are starting with personalized Santa sacks this year, their unwrapped gift will be inside the sack with the stocking in front. When my older kids were little, they used to get up super early, so they used to find their stockings at the end of their bed Christmas morning and they were allowed to open them before they came to wake up Mom and Dad. Now, it seems I am always the first one up, so I end up waking up everyone else once I have the camera ready. I have also started doing breakfast casseroles you can prepare the night before so they can bake in the oven while we are opening gifts.

thumbnail_mailboxes-333

  1. Making New Traditions

We are starting a new tradition this year in addition to our new Santa sacks. This year, we purchased little Christmas mailboxes (BOGO on sale!) and have decided to do a twist on the Random Act of Kindness advent. We have put one mailbox in Caroline’s room and one in the downstairs hallway. Starting December 1, each morning there will be a little note from an elf, or reindeer, or Mrs. Claus with an act of kindness they would like the children to do that day. It will range from anything from giving the bus driver a picture they have drawn to dropping off food at the food bank to bringing coffee to the Fire Station down the street.

footprint-224

 

When I sat down to write this, I asked my kids what they loved about doing each Christmas and there were so many things they came up with. I couldn’t include them all or this blog would never end. In addition to the ones above, here are some other things they listed- Gramma’s sausage rolls, making Jesus’ birthday cake (aka Christmas fruit cake), watching The Grinch Who Stole Christmas, leaving Coca Cola for Santa instead of milk (possibly inspired by Coke commercials), going to look at Christmas lights, writing letters to Santa, visit to Santa, doing themed Christmas photos for cards, making little gifts for their teachers, watching the parades, watching the Santa Tracker on Christmas Eve,                                                             Santa Poppa, and many more.

thumbnail_family

 

 

From my family to yours, Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and best wishes for the New Year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment